Gaia Community

compassion, collaboration & cooperation iN transistion


The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) was established by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) in 1988 to recognize the problem of potential global climate change. IPCC has three Working Groups and a Task Force and continues to provide scientific, technical and socio-economic advice to the world community, in particular to the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).

The reports by the three IPCC Working Groups provide   a comprehensive assessment of the current state of knowledge on climate change and contribute to the Panel's Fourth Assessment Report, Climate Change 2007, which is coming out in 2007. With 450 lead authors and 800 contributors, the Assessment Report includes findings from more than 2,500 scientists from over 130 countries, summing up the last six years of research.

Views: 6

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of Gaia Community to add comments!

Join Gaia Community

© 2023   Created by Michael Grove.   Powered by

Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service